top of page
  • Writer's pictureEthan

Top 20 Soccer Managers of All Time

20. Jurgen Klopp

Won: 2 Bundesliga titles, DFB Pokal, DFL Super Cup, Premier League, EFL Cup, Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, and Club World Cup.

Main Clubs: Dortmund and Liverpool

19. Ottmar Hitzfeld

Won: 2 Swiss Super Leagues, 2 Swiss Cups, Swiss Super Cup, 7 Bundesliga titles, 2 DFB Supercups, 2 Champions League wins, 3 DFB Pokal titles, the Intercontinental cup, and 4 DFB Ligapokal titles.

Main Clubs: Grasshopper, Dortmund, and Bayern Munich

18. Nereo Rocco

Won: 2 Serie A titles, 3 Coppa Italias, 2 European Cups, 2 Cup Winners Cups, and the Intercontinental Cup.

Main Club: AC Milan

17. Miguel Munoz

Won: 9 La Liga titles, the Copa del rey 2 times, the 2 European Cups, and the Intercontinental Cup.

Main Club: Real Madrid

16. Bill Shankly

Won: English 1st Division 3 times, The English Second Division, 2 FA Cups, FA Charity Shield 4 times, and the UEFA Cup.

Main Club: Liverpool

15. Valeriy Lobanovskyi

Won: Over 35 competitions with many clubs.

Main Clubs: Dynamo Kyiv, Soviet Union National Team, and Kuwait National Team.

14. Brian Clough

Won: English First Division 2 times, the European Cup 2 times, The English Second Division, FA Charity Shield, and many more. He is also the basis of the critically acclaimed book and movie Damned United.

Main Clubs: Derby County and Nottingham Forest.

13. Marcello Lippi

Won: 5 Serie A titles, The Coppa Italia, Supercoppa Italiana, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, Intercontinental Cup, 3 Chinese Super League wins, Chinese FA Cup, Chinese FA Super Cup, AFC Champions League, and the 2006 World Cup.

Main Clubs: Italian National Team, Juventus, and Guangzhou Evergrande

12. Jose Mourinho

Won: 2 Portuguese Primeira Liga titles, 2 UEFA Champions League wins, 2 Serie A titles, The FA Cup, La Liga, the UEFA Europa league, and many more.

Main clubs: Chelsea, Real Madrid, Inter Milan, and Porto.

11. Giovanni Trapattoni

Won: 7 Serie A titles, 2 Coppa Italias, The European Cup, Supercoppa Italia, Bundesliga, DFB Pokal, Portuguese Primeira Liga, Austrian Bundesliga, The Nations Cup, and many more.

Main Clubs: Irish National Team, Bayern Munich, Juventus, Inter Milan, Benfica, and Red Bull Salzburg.

10. Matt Busby

Won: 5 English First Division wins, 2 FA Cups, 5 FA Charity Shield wins and a European Cup, he did all this despite around half of his team dying and him getting injured in the Munich Air Disaster, but he rebuilt the team.

Main Clubs: Scotland National Team and Manchester United

9. Johan Cruyff

Won: 2 KNVB Cups, 4 La Liga titles, Copa del Rey, Supercopa de España 3 times, the European Cup, The European Super Cup, and the European Cup Winners Cup two times.

Main Clubs: Barcelona and Ajax

8. Bob Paisley

Won: 6 English Football First Division wins, 3 English League Cups, 6 FA Charity Shields, 3 European Cups, a UEFA Cup, and the UEFA Super Cup.

Main Club: Liverpool

7. Helenio Herrera

Won: La Liga 4 times, the Copa Eva Duarte, 2 Copa del Reys, 2 Inter-Cities Fair Cups, 3 Serie A wins, 2 European Cups, 2 Intercontinental Cups, and the Coppa Italia.

Main Clubs: Atlético Madrid, Barcelona, and Inter Milan.

6. Carlo Ancelotti

Won: Every one of Europe’s big five leagues, La Liga, Serie A, Premier League, Ligue 1, Bundesliga, 3 UEFA Champions League titles, 2 Club World Cup Wins and many more.

Main Clubs: Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, PSG, Chelsea, and AC Milan.

5. Arrigo Sacchi

Won: Serie C1, Serie A, Supercoppa Italiana, 2 European Cups, 2 European Super Cups, 2 Intercontinental Cups, and was Runner Up managing Italy in the 1994 World Cup.

Main Clubs: Parma, Milan, and the Italian National Team.

4. Ernst Happel

Won: Dutch Cup, Eredivisie, 2 European Cups, Intercontinental Cup, 3 Belgian Championships, 2 Belgian Cups, 2 Bundesliga titles, DFB Pokal, 2 Austrian Championships, an Austrian Cup, and managing the Netherlands, the Runner Up in the 1978 World Cup.

Main Clubs: Feyenoord, Club Brugge, Hamburger SV, Swarovski Tirol, and the Netherlands National Team.

3. Pep Guardiola

Won: Tercera División, 3 La Liga titles, 2 Copa del Reys, 3 Supercopa de España titles, 2 UEFA Champions Leagues, 3 UEFA Super Cups, 3 Club World Cups, 3 Bundesliga titles, 2 DFB Pokals, 3 Premier League Wins, the FA Cup, 4 EFL Cups, and 2 FA Community Shields.

Main Clubs: Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Manchester City.

2. Rinus Michels

Won: Eredivisie 4 times, 3 KNVB Cups, European Cup, La Liga, Copa del Rey, Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Trophy, DFB Pokal, UEFA Euros, and was a runner up in the 1974 World Cup with the Netherlands.

Main Clubs: Netherlands National Team, Barcelona, and Ajax.

1. Alex Ferguson

Won: Scottish First Division, Scottish Premier Division 3 times, Scottish League Cup, Drybrough Cup, 2 European Cup Winners Cups, 2 European Super Cups, 5 FA Cups, 4 Football League Cups, 10 FA Charity/Community Shields, 2 UEFA Champions League titles, The Intercontinental Cup, the FIFA Club World Cup and 13 Premier League Titles.

Main Clubs: Aberdeen and Manchester United.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page